fr en ع
home » Discover the region » Presentation Of The Region
  • imprimer
  • imprimer
  • zoom

Languages

Presentation Of The Region


      Fes-Meknes region is one of twelve new regions of Morocco instituted by the territorial division of 2015. It includes two prefectures (Fes and Meknes) and seven provinces (Sefrou, Boulemane Moulay Yacoub, Ifrane, El hajeb, Taza and Taounate ).

A. KEY INDICATORS

  • Capital city of the region : Fes
  • Total Area : 40.075 km²
  • Number of prefectures : 02
  • Number of provinces : 07
  • Number of urban municipalities : 34
  • Number of districts : 6
  • Number of rural municipalities : 161
  • Population :  4.236.892 inhabitants
  • Urbanization rate : 60.52 %
  • Density : 105.7 inhabitants / km²
  • Regional GDP : 9,1 % 
  • Sectoral GDP ranking of the region :
    • Primary Sector : 2nd nationally
    • Secondary Sector : 6th nationally
    • Tertiary Sector : 4th nationally

B. Climate :

• Fes-Meknes region is subjected to three types of climates:

  • A continental climate in the north, very hot and dry in summer and cold and wet in winter. Winds are cold and dry or cold and wet in winter and hot in summer (Chergui).
  • A cold and wet climate in mountainous areas, very cold and snowy in winter and temperate in summer.
  • A semi-arid climate in the high hills of Boulemane. Winters are very cold and snowy.

• The table below shows the rainfall average recorded during the last two years.

Rainfall2015-2016 Campaign2014-2015 Campaign
Average of region323,74 mm464,63 mm

Source : Regional Direction of Agriculture, 2016

A.    Distribution of population by prefecture and province :

      According to the General Census of Population and Housing of 2014, the population of Fes-Meknes counts 4,236,892 inhabitants. The distribution of population by prefecture and province shows the dominance of Fes-Meknes bi-pole which houses 47% of the population of the region :

B.     Population density and urbanization :

      Fes-Meknes region, which covers only 5.6% of the area of the Kingdom, houses 13% of the national population Which results in high regional density of 105.7 inhabitants per km2 against 47.6 nationally.

      The urban population has experienced an increase of 1.52% against a decrease in the rural population of -0.56%. The urbanization rate in the region reached 60.52% in 2014. More than two thirds of the urban population of the region is concentrated in two prefectures of Fes and Meknes. In addition, different provinces have divergent urbanization rates ranging from 0.14% in the province of Moulay Yacoub to 0.4% in the province of Taza. The urbanization of the area is thus characterized by a high concentration of economic activities of two imperial cities Fes and Meknes constituting an urban bi-pole in a network of small and medium towns.

C.    Distribution of population of the region by place of residence

 

A.    Higher education and professional training :

1. Higher education :

      Public higher education in the region consists of Sidi Mohamed Ben Abdellah University and the Quaraouiyine University in Fes, Moulay Ismail University and the National School of Agriculture in Meknes, covering nearly 143,945 students .


Number of students in public universities in the region:(2015)

 USMBA FezQuaraouiyineUMI MeknesENA MeknesTOTAL
Number90.2142.43050.885416143.945

Source : USMBA, UMI, ENA- 2016

Regarding permanent teaching staff at public universities in the region, it consists of 2,356 teachers researchers allocated as follows:

Number of teachers in public universities in the region: (2013)

 USMBA FezQuaraouiyineUMI MeknesENA MeknesTOTAL
Number1.341136820592.356

Source : Ministry of higher Education, Scientific Research and Training, 2013

      The region has two private universities: Al Akhwayne university in Ifrane, the Euro-Mediterranean University in Fez and the Private University of Fez, and other specialized private institutions (see Annex 1)

2. Vocational training :

      Aware of the dual mission of Vocational training, consisting in one hand of the satisfaction of the companies needs to improve their performances and competitiveness, and in the other hand, the qualification and social promotion of the population, public authorities worked to develop Vocational training in Fez Meknes region , Following the example of other regions of the Kingdom.

      Ongoing efforts have allowed the establishment of a network of 262 public and private Vocational training institutions with a total capacity of 33,739 training places. 236 Specialties are offered, in which 176 through residential training, 60 through apprenticeship". and 64 through skills training, affect levels of training Certificate of Apprenticeship (Cap), Specialization (S) Qualification ( Q), Technician (T) and Specialized Technician (TS) and cover the needs of the economic fabric in terms of skilled workforce and middle managers.

      Administratively, the Department of Vocational Training has two Regional Delegation based in Fez and Meknes with jurisdiction for the following prefectures and provinces (Fes, Sefrou, Boulemane, Taza, Taounate, Meknes, El Hajeb, Ifrane) . The number of trainees in the institutions in Fez Meknes region in 2015-2016 is 47798. With 39527 beneficiaries, residential training is first, followed by skills training that benefits to 4872 person and to 3399 person in apprenticeship training. The sector of private vocational training had registered participants that reached 7652.

Health sector :

      The hospital network in the region consists of 21 hospitals, including 7 specialty hospitals offering a bed capacity of 4,241 beds. The distribution by prefecture and province is the following:

 FESMEKNESIFRANEEL HAJEBMoulay YACOUBSEFROUBOULEMANETAOUNATETAZATOTAL
hospitals7521 122121
Urbain Health Center333256284511106
Rural Health Center12158121018174434170
Rural Dispensary716197 7192629130

Source : Ministry of Health, Health card 2014

      Public and private medical supervision is ensured by 1.888 doctors 68.6% of them work in two prefectures of Fez and Meknes region as shown in the table below:

 FESMEKNESIFRANEEL HAJEBMoulay YACOUBSEFROUBOULEMANETAOUNATETAZATOTAL
Private400271151711582255804
Public3133076164306667691071084
Total7135787681318175911621888

         Source : Ministry of Health, Health card 2014

 

      The road network of Fez-Meknes region has a total length of 7625 km whish is 18.5% of the national road network. National roads in the region extend over a length of 918 Km. Regional ones extends over 1695 km and the provincial network has a total length of 5012 km.
      The highway that crosses the region has improved in a considerable way the quality of road services in the region, ensuring in 2013 an average daily traffic of 12100 vehicles between Fez and Meknes.

      The rail network: the region is accessed by a railway with a length of 200 km allowing to reach the following destinations : Marrakech, Tanger and Oujda

      The region has an international airport "Fez Saiss" with an annual capacity of nearly 3 million passengers after the opening of Terminal 2 and it is directly connected to major international cities: Paris, Barcelona, ​​Düsseldorf, Eindhoven, Brussels , Amsterdam, Rome ...).
      Concerning industrial work spaces , the region has several industrial areas whith many installation options such as the Industrial area of  Miftah Alkheir in Ras Elma (province of Moulay Yacoub), the Agropolis in Meknes, the Industrial area of Aknoul road in the province of Taza,, Fez Shore platform, the future Industrial area of Ain Cheggag in the province of Sefrou, (see detail of each area on  prefectures and provinces report cards).
      The supply drinking water is provided primarily by a series of dams such as Bab Louta, Sahla and a set of water treatment plants, such as Oued Sebou Oued Innaouen and Oued Ouargha plants. The total production of drinking water in the region is estimated to 99.5 million m3 mainly produced by ONEP.(National office for drinking water). 
      As for the Electricity generation in the region, it reaches 2.5 billion kWh, mainly from the thermal station of Jerada and Elfouarat transformer station through Toulal located in Meknes. Hydraulic stations of Bab Jdid and Jenifour in fez to reinforce electricity production when the demand is high.

fr en ع
home » Présentation de la région
  • imprimer
  • imprimer
  • zoom

Langues

Présentation de la région


       La Région de Fès-Meknès  est une des douze nouvelles régions du Maroc  instituées par le découpage territorial de 2015.

       Elle comprend deux préfectures (Fès et Meknès) et sept provinces (Séfrou, Boulemane, Moulay Yacoub, Ifrane, El hajeb, Taza et Taounate).

A. INDICATEURS CLES

  • Chef lieu : Fès
  • Superficie : 40.075 km²
  • Nombre de préfectures : 02
  • Nombre de provinces : 07
  • Nombre communes urbaines : 34
  • Nombre d’arrondissements : 6
  • Nombre communes rurales : 161
  • Population :  4.236.892 habitants
  • Taux d’urbanisation : 60.52 %
  • Densité : 105.7 habitants / km²
  • PIB régional : 9,1 % 
  • Classement du PIB sectoriel de la région :
    • Secteur Primaire : 2ème   au niveau national
    • Secteur secondaire : 6ème   au niveau national
    • Secteur tertiaire : 4ème   au niveau national

B. Climat :

La région de Fès-Meknès est soumise à 3 types de climats :

  • Un climat continental dans la partie nord, très chaud et très sec en été et froid et humide en hiver. Les vents y sont secs et froids ou bien froids et humides en hiver et chauds en été (chergui).
  • Un climat froid et humide en zone montagneuse, très froid et très neigeux en hiver et tempéré en été.
  • Un climat semi-aride dans les hautes collines de Boulemane. Les hivers y sont très froids et neigeux.

Le tableau ci-dessous montre la moyenne des précipitations enregistrées durant les deux dernières années.

PrécipitationsCampagne 2015-2016Campagne  2014-2015
Moyenne Région323,74 mm464,63 mm

Source : Direction Régionale de l’Agriculture, 2016

A.    Répartition de la population par préfecture et par province :

       Selon le recensement Général de la Population et de l’Habitat de 2014, la Région de Fès-Meknès compte 4.236.892 habitants. La répartition de la population par préfecture et province montre le dominance du bipôle Fès-Meknès qui concentre 47% de la population de la Région :

B.     Densité de la population et urbanisation :

       La Région de Fès-Meknès, qui ne couvre que 5,6% de la superficie du Royaume, abrite 13% de la population nationale. Ce qui se traduit par une haute densité régionale de 105,7 habitants au Km2 contre 47,6 au niveau national.

       La population urbaine a connu un accroissement de 1,52% contre une baisse de la population rurale de -0,56%. Le taux d’urbanisation dans la région a atteint 60,52% en 2014. Plus des deux tiers de la population urbaine de la région est concentrée dans les deux préfectures de Fès et de Meknès. Par ailleurs, les différentes provinces ont des taux d’urbanisation divergents allant de 0,14% à la province de Moulay Yacoub à 0,4% à la province de Taza. L’urbanisation de la région est ainsi caractérisée par une grande concentration des activités économiques des deux villes impériales : Fès et Meknès qui constituent un bipôle urbain dans un réseau de petites et moyennes villes.

C.    Répartition de la population de la région selon le lieu de résidence

 

A.    L’enseignement supérieur et formation professionnelle :

1. Enseignement Supérieur :

       L’enseignement supérieur public dans la région se compose de l’Université Sidi Mohamed ben  Abdellah et l’Université Quaraouiyine à Fès, l’Université Moulay Ismail et l’Ecole Nationale d’Agriculture à Meknès,  couvrant un effectif de près de 143.945 étudiants. 


Effectif des étudiants  dans les Universités publiques de la Région : (2015)

 USMBA FèsQuaraouiyineUMI MeknèsENA MeknèsTOTAL
Effectif90.2142.43050.885416143.945

Source : USMBA, UMI, ENA- 2016

Concernant le corps enseignant permanent aux Universités publiques de la région, il est constitué de  2.356 enseignants chercheurs répartis comme suit :

Effectif des enseignants  dans les Universités publiques de la Région : (2013)

 USMBA FèsQuaraouiyineUMI MeknèsENA MeknèsTOTAL
Effectif1.341136820592.356

Source : Ministère de l’Enseignement Superieur et de la Recherche Scientifique et de la formation des cadres, 2013

       La région regroupe deux universités privées à savoir l’Université Al Akhwayne à Ifrane, l’Université Euro-méditerranéenne de Fès ainsi que l’Université Privé de Fès, et d’autres établissements privés spécialisés (voir en Annexe 1)

2. Formation professionnelle :

       Conscientes de la mission double de la formation professionnelle, consistant d’une part en la satisfaction des besoins des entreprises pour améliorer leurs performances et leur compétitivité, et d’autre part, en la qualification des populations et leur promotion sociale, les autorités publiques ont œuvré pour son développement dans la région de Fès Meknès, à l’instar des autres régions du Royaume.

       L’effort soutenu qui a été entrepris dans ce sens a permis la mise en place d’un réseau de 262  établissements publics et privés de formation professionnelle disposant d’une capacité d’accueil globale de 33739 places pédagogiques. Les spécialités et métiers préparés dans ces établissements sont au nombre de 236 dont 176 en formation résidentielle, 60 en formation par apprentissage et 64 en formation qualifiante, touchent les niveaux de formation Certificat d’Apprentissage(Cap), Spécialisation (S), Qualification (Q), Technicien (T) et Technicien Spécialisé (TS) et couvrent les besoins du tissu économique en main d’œuvre qualifiée et en cadres moyens.

       Sur le plan administratif, le Département de la formation professionnelle dispose de deux Délégation Régionale basée à Fès et à Meknès et ayant pour territoire de compétence les préfectures et provinces (Fès,  Séfrou,  Boulemane, Taza, Taounate, Meknès, El Hajeb, Ifrane). L’effectif des stagiaires en formation dans les établissements de la région Fès Meknès au titre de l’année de formation 2015-2016 s’élève à 47798. Avec 39527 bénéficiaires, la formation résidentielle arrive au premier rang, suivie par la formation qualifiante qui profite à 4872 jeunes, puis 3399 en formation par apprentissage. Le secteur de la formation professionnelle privée enregistre un nombre d’inscrits de 7652.

3. La Santé :

       Le réseau hospitalier de la région est constitué de 21 hôpitaux dont 7 hôpitaux spécialisés offrant une capacité litière de 4.241 lits. La répartition par préfecture et province se présente comme suit :

 FESMEKNESIFRANEEL HAJEBMoulay YACOUBSEFROUBOULEMANETAOUNATETAZATOTAL
hôpitaux7521 122121
Centre de Santé Urbain333256284511106
Centre de Santé Rural12158121018174434170
Dispensaire Rural716197 7192629130

Source : Ministère de la santé, carte sanitaire 2014

       L’encadrement médical public et privé est assuré par 1.888  médecins dont 68,6% exercent au niveau des deux préfectures de la région (Fès et Meknès) comme le montre le tableau ci après :

 FESMEKNESIFRANEEL HAJEBMoulay YACOUBSEFROUBOULEMANETAOUNATETAZATOTAL
Privé400271151711582255804
Public3133076164306667691071084
Total7135787681318175911621888

         Source : Ministère de la santé, carte sanitaire 2014

 

       Le réseau routier de la région de Fès-Meknès totalise une longueur  de 7625 Km, soit 18,5% du réseau routier national. Les routes nationales dans la région s’étendent sur une longueur de 918 Km celles régionales se développent sur  1695 Km et le réseau provincial totalise 5012 Km.
       L’autoroute qui traverse la région a amélioré d’une façon considérable la qualité de la desserte routière de la région, en assurant en 2013 un trafic journalier moyen entre Fès et Meknès de 12100 véhicules.
Le réseau ferroviaire : la région est desservie par un chemin de fer d’une longueur de 200 Km permettant sa liaison aux destinations de Marrakech, Tanger et Oujda.    

       La région est dotée d’un aéroport international « Fès Saiss » d’une capacité d’accueil annuelle de près de 3 millions de passagers après ouverture du Terminal 2 et directement relié aux grandes villes internationales : Paris, Barcelone, Düsseldorf, Eindhoven, Bruxelles, Amsterdam, Rome…).
       Concernant les espaces d’accueil industriels, la région est dotée de plusieurs zones industrielles où les opportunités d’installation existent encore comme la ZI Miftah Alkheir à Ras Elma (province de Moulay Yacoub), l’Agropolis de Meknès, la ZI route d’Aknoul à la province de Taza, la plateforme de Fès Shore, la future ZI Ain Cheggag à la province de Séfrou, (voir détail de chaque zone sur les fiches des préfectures et provinces).
       L’approvisionnement en eau potable est assuré surtout par un ensemble de barrages tels que Bab louta, Sahla et par un ensemble de stations de traitement telles que celles de Oued Sebou, Oued Innaouen, et Oued Ouargha. La production totale en eau potable dans la région est estimée à environ 99,5 millions de m3 produite essentiellement par l’ONEP. 
       La production d’électricité dans la région atteint 2500 millions de KWh provenant essentiellement de la station thermique de Jerada et station de transformation Elfouarat à travers Toulal situé à Meknès. Les stations hydrauliques de Bab Jdid et Jenifour à Fès renforcent la production électrique au moment où la demande est importante.